Bottoms Up

You give me just enough hope to hold on –

You give me just enough rope by which to hang.

The yarns you spin are coarse, threadbare, and flimsy,

And when I fall,

I will fall with a bang,

Because heavy things aren’t apt to crash in silence,

And my heart is just as hefty as my ass –

Were I as slim – as sliver-thin – as your excuses,

Perhaps I’d rank ahead of second class.

When I drop, because you shot me down like Phaethon

I’ll leave a crater ‘mongst the desert sands

Where your heart might be if you’d admit you had one.

Mine lies sequestered in your careless hands,

And you will chuck it in the brackish gutter

And grind it into ash beneath your shoe –

A smoldering ember flush against the filter

Is all that I am truly worth to you.

 

Leave a Reply

